Yoga Challenge: Day 11

Pose of the day: Triangle Pose

I was so out of sorts yesterday! One nap just wasn’t enough for me, I felt like I could barely function for most of the day. Later in the day, fortified by an extra cup of coffee and some wine, I did some standing-up yoga: Mountain, Chair, Warriors, etc. I met my minimum at least, probably went about 15 minutes. If nothing else, this definitely demonstrates that you don’t need a mat to do yoga, fancy clothes, or even a large space. I did it in my living room, in my jeans and sweatshirt, watching reruns of Big Bang Theory. It also shows that no matter “off” you feel for a day, there’s always something you can do for yourself to make your body feel even a modicum of relief.

Triangle is the PotD because it’s always been one my favorites, since I first tried yoga about 10 years ago. It’s a bit of a challenge to balance, but I love the elongated feeling I get in my torso and the stretch in my arms. This is one of those poses that really forces me to concentrate on my breathing and picking a focal point to maintain my balance, usually because my eyes are facing the ceiling instead of straight ahead, like many other poses.

The nice part of this challenge so far is that, even though I’m still pain, I still feel good. I’m not losing weight, as far as I know but I’m not really watching it, since building muscle can replace losing fat anyway. I’m not even big, I just want the extra inches to be smooth instead of rolly. Still, even when I’m feeling like crap, cuddling up with my heating pad, drinking water and focusing on doing something good for my body has me in better moods lately. I’ve even been eating better. I’m not dieting (pizza rolls are definitely not any diet lists), but I’ve been cooking at home more and making really delicious choices. I’ve been inspired to go on Pinterest and read cookbooks, and I’ve been making some pretty amazing things, like last night’s Rosemary-Garlic Steak with a red wine reduction. I didn’t even know I could do that! I guess the best parts of challenges are the changes you didn’t expect because it makes them so much more surprising and satisfying.

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 Days of Yoga

Leave a Reply

