Yoga Challenge: Day 3

*At some point, I’m not sure when, this blog started to feel like a captain’s log.*

Pose of the day: Cobbler’s Pose

Man, I had a rough third day! Thankfully, it had nothing to do with Downward Dog. I did my morning workout, opting for self-guidance with the aid of DoYou Yoga’s 8 Poses for Fibromyalgia Patients. It’s a pretty comfortable collection, mostly made up of old favorites like Child, Cobra, Corpse Pose, etc. One new one was Legs-Up-the-Wall, which promised:

Because you’re flipping the way gravity is working against blood flow in the legs, this pose can reduce swelling and fatigue in the lower extremities.

Here’s the thing: no. I honestly didn’t feel anything like that. It felt little more than weird, no big deal. I even swung my legs all the way over my head so my feet touched the floor behind me (a thing I’ve been doing since I was a kid that turned out to be yoga). I felt no better than usual.

In fact, by the afternoon I had a migraine that I nursed for most of the evening. When my body started aching badly, I did another round of yoga, actually. Just ten minutes of stretches and easy poses. My hips get really mad at me during a fibro-flare and all I could think about was getting into Pigeon Pose to stretch it out. While that didn’t really do much for me, Cobbler’s Pose provided some relief.

I would really like to get to the point (have I said this yet?) where I don’t feel sore all the time, where my muscles feel like Jell-O instead of wrung-out washcloths. In the meantime, between my yoga challenge and my Read Harder challenge, and the fact that I bought many bottles of wine on my last excursions to Trader Joe’s, I’m not watching as much tv, so I’m getting more done. Also, for those who’ve been following along, I’m still drinking all my water every day, though maybe not a full gallon 😉 That’s good.

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 Days of Yoga

Leave a Reply

